Easiest pick of the year?

Ok, so I got into an argument with someone at the local pub tonight.

I don’t know if he was an Eagles fan or not (Good joke: E-A-G-L-E-S stands for: Eagles Are Gonna Lose Every Season). But I mentioned that this game may have been the best bet of the week for the following reasons:

1) You have a team coming off a tough game vs. one of the top teams in the NFL in the Patriots.

2) That team played Sunday at 4:15, then is playing at 8:20 (both times Eastern) on Thursday against a team IT HAS TO FLY ACROSS THE COUNTRY TO PLAY.

3)  That team is in disarray. There are calls for the head coach to be fired, and meanwhile at the last game, there were two coaches (one offensive, and one defensive) who almost got into a fight with each other.

4) The Home team, who didn’t have to travel across the country, was a three-point underdog.

Now the person I argued with said that it was easy to mention that with four minutes left in the game. My retort? Sorry I didn’t see you two days ago. Now the ideas listed to bet on Seattle (and take them outright) were not my own, but ideas I heard (and agreed with COMPLETELY) on the Colin Cowherd show (and I  am NOT a big fan of Cowherd).

But think of it. A team reeling after being annointed a Super Bowl contender. Said team going with a backup QB. Said team facing a tough team Sunday, then flying across the country to play four days later. Said team with a coach on the brink, and two coordinators ready to stage their own “Thrilla in Manilla or wherever.” Said team a three-point favorite despite all that.

Wouldn’t you have taken the Seahawks and the points? If not to flat out win?

And win the Seahawks did. By a whopping margin.

I don’t know if the said person was an Eagles fan or not.

But the outcome of this game seemed obvious—to me, to Cowherd, and to anyone who may have analyzed.

Sorry I told him it was obvious with four minutes left.

I only wish I could have told him a few days ago.

One response to “Easiest pick of the year?

  1. No doubt. Watching DeSean stumble around for a few hours added icing to the punishment cake.

Leave a Reply

