Tag Archives: McLain

Two unanimous CYA winners first time since 1968. Cortes 8th, Cole 9th. MVPs announced tonight.

For the first time since 1968 (Gibson and McLain) both CYA winners were unanimous winners of the award.

In the NL Sandy Alcantara became the first Marlin to cop the honor.

In the AL Justin Verlander won his third CYA, adding to his HOF resume. For Verlander, very impressive given his age (39) and coming off TJ surgery.

The Yankees’ Nestor Cortes got three fifth-place votes and finished eighth in the voting. Gerrit Cole got one fifth place vote and finished ninth. We keep wondering when Cole might win the award himself. He has finished second twice, losing out to Verlander in 2019.

The MVP awards will be announced tonight and here is hoping Aaron Judge beats out Shohei Ohtani for the award.

Verlander first pitcher to win an MVP in 19 years. Nathan goes to Texas.

Justin Verlander won the MVP award today, adding to his CYA this year.

The last pitcher to win an MVP was reliever Dennis Eckersley in 1992. The last starter? Roger Clemens in 1986.

In the NL, the last pitcher to win an MVP was Bob Gibson in 1968.

One ironic thing is this: since 2B Charlie Gehringer won the MVP in 1937 (an award I think Joe D. should have won that year), every Tiger that has won the award since has been a pitcher.

1944-1945 (WWII years) Hal Newhouser 29 and 26 wins.
1968 Denny McLain, 31 wins.
1984 Willie Hernandez
2011 Justin Verlander 24 wins.

As far as Yankees are concerned, it’s interesting that big $$$$ personnel like Jeter, CC and Alex got nothing.


Granderson finished fourth. Cano sixth (how could four writers leave Cano out of the top 10 on their ballot?)

Mark Teixeira finished 19th despite the .248 B.A. (39 HR, 111 RBI).

No Mo.

But David Robertson got a 10th place vote, putting him 22nd in the voting.

In other news: Joe Nathan signed with Texas as a free agent. I don’t know where Texas would put him (Feliz) but it makes their BP that much stronger.

Update: Judging from Twitter, (SI’s Heyman, ESPN’s Olney) Feliz is to be moved into the rotation. Well, that’s one way to counter the loss of Wilson (also to counter the collapse of Feliz in WS Game 6).

Game 33. Yanks top Jays 8-2. The Road Runner shows pop.

Hmm…Brett Gardner hitting 7th?

The Road Runner hit like a #7 hitter tonight though, hitting his first career HR and adding a triple to boot. His three RBI almost matched his season high going into the game.

Teixeira, with 2 hits and 2 RBI, got his average over the Mendoza line. All the way to .202.

Pettitte went 6, giving up 2 runs, 1 earned. Career win #218 ties him with Bob Caruthers (no, not the guy that was on “Love that Bob” for you old-time TV fans) and Earl Whitehill. You are forgiven if you never heard of them. Whitehill was the ace of the 1933 Washington Nationals (not officially the Senators until 1956). That was the last Washington team to win a pennant.

Aceves went two scoreless. Nice job. Albaladejo pitched a sloppy 9th. Walking two batters while you have a six-run lead is unforgiveable. 

In another game, Ryan Zimmerman of the Nationals had his 30 game hitting streak snapped today. A great achievement. But it just makes you appreciate Joe D.’s streak all the more, for he was a whopping 26 games short. Think of it. No one has come closer than 12 games to Joe D. That was Pete Rose in 1978 with a 44 game streak. Not within 12 games.

There are some records that I believe won’t be touched. 511 wins. 56 game hitting streak. 16 CG shutouts in a season. Those are three of them.

I also believe that the controversial and troubled Denny McLain will wind up being the last 30 game winner.