Tag Archives: Posey

MVPs to Miggy, Posey

Miguel Cabrera’s Triple Crown season (the first in MLB in 45 years) won him the A.L. MVP award today. Cabrera hit .330-44-139 with an OPS+ of 165.

Buster Posey won the award in the NL with a .336-24-103 mark, OPS+ 172. His OPS+ was the best in the majors. He led the majors in batting average (after Melky disqualified himself after having been nabbed for PEDs).

Robbie Cano of the Yanks finished 4th in the MVP voting, Derek Jeter 7th. In the past three years, Cano has finished 3rd, 6th and 4th.

For Jeter, it was the eighth time in his career he finished in the top 10 for MVP.

Rafael Soriano finished 2oth in the balloting, and someone (?) actually gave a 10th place vote to Raul Ibanez (.240-19-62, OPS+ 104), who finished 24th.

Meanwhile, if you didn’t already hear, the Yanks’ AAA franchise in Scranton/ Wilkes-Barre has a new nickname: the RailRiders.


Giants sweep away Tigers for crown

As I stay at home today with work called off because of Hurricane Sandy, I hope everyone stays safe.

Meanwhile, last night the S.F. Giants won their second title in three years. This time, it was in a sweep. The Giants defeated the Tigers 4-3 in ten innings.

Pablo Sandoval, who tied a record with three HRs in Game One, was named the WS MVP. He hit .500 (8 for 16) for the Series.

In the second, Pence doubled, and Belt tripled to give the Giants a 1-0 lead.

Miguel Cabrera put the Tigers up 2-1 with 2-run HR in the third.

In the sixth, Buster Posey put S.F. up with a 2-run HR, but Delmon Young tied it with a HR of his own in the bottom of the sixth.

Some littleball won the game and the Series for the Giants in the 10th. Ryan Theriot singled, was bunted over to second by Brandon Crawford, and then Marco Scutaro, with two out, singled in Theriot.

The final out was a strikeout of Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera, who watched strike three go by.

Now as for that ring, I wonder if PED users (Melky) shouldn’t get diamonds but should get cubic zirconia instead?

ROY goes to Feliz, Posey

Neftali Perez got the AL Rookie of the Year award after going 4-3, 2.73 with 40 saves to help Texas to the A.L. pennant. Detroit’s Austin Jackson finished second.

C Buster Posey of the world champion Giants got the NL award after hitting  .305-18-67. Atlanta’s Justin Heyward was the runnerup.

Tomorrow, the NL CYA. Expected winner: Roy Halladay.  

2010 WS Game 4. SF leaves Rangers in a “Huff.” Bumgarner brilliant as Giants are one win from the title.

Aubrey Huff’s 2-run HR was all Madison Bumgarner needed in a brilliant performance. SF wins 4-0 and takes a commanding 3 games to 1 lead in the World Series.

Andres Torres had an RBI double, and Buster Posey had a solo HR to support Bumgarner, who went 8 shutout innings, giving up just three hits. Brian “the Beach Boy” Wilson closed it.

Since 1933, the only WS title for the Giants was in 1954, when the Giants were still in NY, playing at Coogan’s Bluff— at the bathtub-shaped Polo Grounds. They have not won a WS since going to SF.

They are now one win away.